Web Hosting – Web Hosting Review – Fastest Web Host ?

First of ALL – Please note: We are not

  1. we are not a hosting company / review company / website dev. company
  2. we are not experts in web-hosting technology – we do not maintain our own servers

We are:

  1. we are obsessed with speed
  2. we are a customer to web hosting companies (maybe just like you)

This page was made while we were considering different web hosting companies for VPS or Dedicated server plans to host our own Dogs site.

When we were trying to find authentic web hosting reviews, we observed that results typically fall into two categories:

A) Anecdotal experiences and

B) Spammers trying to cash in on affiliate programs. It’s nearly impossible to get an idea of what hosts actually have a good reputation.

Please note: There are NO affiliate links on this page !

This probably the most genuine web hosting review you will ever find online !

Now to start with the review, we decided to assume some things…

i.e. if we are hungry, we would eat first, then think about feeding others around us.

Assumption: if we are hungry, we would eat first, then think about feeding others around us.

Seeing is believing – so, we test each web hosting providers own page for speed on Pingdom tools. Pingdom is wellknown and widely used tool to measure website speed. We test all web hosting provider pages from one location – New York City, USA. Test was done on December 15, 2012. You could try re-checking yourself and compare your results with those on this page. Comments please – comments highly appreciated.

Web Hosting – Web Hosting Review

Fastest Web Host ?

 

Lets start with godaddy – many call it slowdaddy, but thats not what we found..

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.05.24 PM

Hostgator… quite popular and they really eat up the competition ! (Hostgator was one of the fastest)

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.05.58 PM

inmotion.. not bad..

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.06.31 PM

wp-engine claim to be very very fast .. but we found their own page to be faster than only 39% of all tested websites.

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.07.07 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.07.40 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.08.10 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.09.34 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.10.03 PM

we expected a small orange to be much faster..

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.10.41 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.11.11 PM

we tested this to show you .. an example of a slow website hosting company !

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.12.02 PM

and since you would say.. thats cuz its in india.. we tested google india !

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.12.49 PM

amazon aws..

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.13.38 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.19.25 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.20.39 PM

we also tested some university websites and the results were amusing.. mit is fast.. of course.. we expected this.

hosting review - hosting speed - fastest host 1

but just across the river, its a different story… ha ha ha

now this could be a start to many jokes..but let’s not deviate too much as this is a web hosting review !

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.22.00 PM

and we wanted to test a west coast university..  2.3mb in 2.01s is quite fast !

Also, we are testing from New York so the Boston pages should load faster..

does this mean you are better off using data centers on the west coast instead of east coast ? Just a thought..

( universities have own servers on campus and host their own sites )

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.23.14 PM

checking speeds of some other popular websites.. just to get a fair idea

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.23.42 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.24.11 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.24.41 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-15 at 4.26.39 PM

so to conclude, Hostgator is fastest, bluehost and linode are quite fast followed by godaddy .. etc..

I hope you enjoyed the most genuine web hosting review

Please share us, like us, tweet us so more like you can find this page.

Also, check our dog site – if you like dogs, you will love our site – if you dont like dogs, you will start liking them :-)

Please share your experiences with web hosting on this page – Thanks & Regards, DBS

comments


   




Web Hosting – Web Hosting Review – Fastest Web Host ?